MHEFI Announces 2018/2019 Scholarship Winners

Monday, May 7, 2018

The Material Handling Education Foundation, Inc. (MHEFI)  is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018-2019 scholarship awards. Students who meet the eligibility requirements and attend a qualified institution is encouraged to apply for a scholarship.
Scholarship awards range from $1,500 to $6,000 and are made up of funds from the Foundation and the Howard Bernstein Scholarship Program. One application allows students to compete for multiple scholarships offered by the Foundation.
The winners are as follows:
Crane Manufacturers Association of America Honor Scholarship
Alec Jobbins, University of CA-Berkeley
Tompkins International Honor Scholarship
Serinda Kong, University of British Columbia
Frazier Industrial Honor Scholarship
Jerimy Logan, Loyola University
Rack Manufacturers Institute/John Nofsinger Honor Scholarship
Kaan Unnu, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Howard Bernstein Scholarship
Nicholas Hughes, Michigan State University (Sponsored by EnerSys)
Amanda Holewiak, Maine Maritime Academy (Sponsored by Worldwide Material Handling) 
Abigail Sullivan, Clarkson University (Sponsored by Conger Toyota Lift, Gary T. Moore, Wisconsin Lift Truck, Hy-Tek Material Handling)
Benjamin Bruns, Rochester Institute of Technology (Sponsored by Tynan Equipment Company, Steel King Industries, Atlas Toyota Material Handling, Hanel Storage Systems, Hamilton Caster, CMH Services, Howard Bernstein Fund) 
Makenzie Keepers, West Virginia University (Sponsored by Toyota Material Handling, NA)
Sha Qiang Garlington, Virginia Tech
Material Handling Equipment Distributors Association Honor Scholarship
Lea Morisato, University of Oklahoma
Spanco, Inc. Honor Scholarship
Thomas Reichelt, Penn State University
Solutions Community Honor Scholarship
Jana Boerger, Georgia Tech
Storage Manufacturers Association Honor Scholarship
Tyler Kleinsasser, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
Rack Manufacturers Institute/John Nofsinger Honor Scholarship
Jessica Francis, West Virginia University
James Anunciacion, University of Minnesota
Andrew Ortman, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Francisco Aldarondo, University of Michigan
Julie Shields, University of Pittsburgh
Automated Storage/Retrieval Systems Honor Scholarship
Anna Gray, University of Wisconsin-Stout
Electrification and Controls Manufacturers Association Honor Scholarship
Samantha Sanders, Ohio University
Southworth International Group, Inc. Honor Scholarship
Dina Perlic, University of Pittsburgh
St. Onge Company Honor Scholarship
Ryan Knudtson, University of Wisconsin-Stout
Conveyor & Sortation Systems Honor Scholarship
Jessica Robey, Michigan State University
Irving M. Footlik, P.E. Memorial Scholarship
Christian Collier, Indiana University-Purdue University
Jack Francis, Mississippi State University
Material Handling Education Foundation Honor Scholarship
Rachel Bunker, Maine Maritime Academy
Christopher Ferguson, Georgia Tech
Expert Crane Honor Scholarship
Kevin Davenport, Jr., Virginia Tech
UNEX Manufacturing Inc. Honor Scholarship
Keil Allen, Michigan State University
Hoist Manufacturers Institute/Monorail Manufacturers Association Honor Scholarship
Philip Murray, Georgia Tech
Seizmic, Inc./LAMHMS Scholarship
Zhiyuan Li, Stanford University
Automatic Guided Vehicle Systems Honor Scholarship
Bailey Butler, NC State University
Hanel Storage Systems Honor Scholarship
Bailey Whitman, Oklahoma State University
Ridg-U-Rak Honor Scholarship
Adam Lecznar, Kettering University
Steel King Industries Honor Scholarship
Naydeen Musaitif, Bradley University
Loading Dock Equipment Manufacturers Honor Scholarship
Camryn Gavras, University of Oklahoma
Ergonomic Assist Systems & Equipment Council Honor Scholarship
Eric Gessler, Kansas State University
Gorbel Inc. Honor Scholarship
Justin Wood, Clarkson University
Lee Wood Scholarship (ICWM)
Jacob Moret, Iowa State
Lift Manufacturers Product Section Honor Scholarship
Hosseinali Salemi, Oklahoma State University
Protective Guarding Manufacturers Association Honor Scholarship
Ryan Quinnett, Iowa State
For more information contact Donna Varner at
The Material Handling Education Foundation, Inc. ( is an independent charitable organization that was established in 1976 with a mission to promote the study of material handling, logistics and supply chains by exposing students and educators to the industry through financial support. Since 1976, more than $2.5 million in scholarships and grants have been awarded to students at colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. Forty-two scholarships were awarded for the 2018/2019 academic term for a total of $131,000.
About MHI
MHI is an international trade association that has represented the industry since 1945. MHI members include material handling, logistics and supply chain equipment and systems manufacturers, integrators, consultants, publishers, and third party logistics providers. Much of the work of the industry is done within its product- and solution- specific groups. The association also sponsors trade events, such as ProMat and MODEX to showcase the products and services of its member companies and to educate industry professionals on the productivity solutions provided through material handling and logistics.